Skip to main content

Union Members Celebrate Spring Election Victories!

AFT-Wisconsin members are celebrating after labor-endorsed candidates won elections across the state.  Most notably, labor-endorsed WI Supreme Court Candidate, Judge Rebecca Dallet, won a ten-year term on the Wisconsin Supreme Court by double digits, and voters rejected a ballot initiative that could have put funding for public school libraries at risk by eliminating the Office of the State Treasurer.

AFT-Wisconsin endorsed union members were the big winners on election night.  From Superior to Milwaukee, union members won seats on school boards, county boards, and city councils. AFTW members and recruited EdMN members elected to office include: 

  • Warren Bender, EdMN retiree, Superior City Council
  • Tanya Buckingham, AFT Local 223, Dane County Board
  • Kate Cronin, AFT Local 223, Verona Common Council
  • Chris Freeman, AFT Local 6503, Menomonie School Board
  • Ruth Ludwig, AFT Local 202 retiree, Superior City Council
  • Mike Meyer, EdMN member, Superior School Board
  • Leah Schreiber Johnson, AFT Local 3535, Oak Creek-Franklin School Board
  • Steve Shea, AFT Local 212, Milwaukee County Board

“We’re seeing enthusiasm from members in every corner of the state,” said AFTW President Kim Kohlhaas.  “What’s really exciting is the amount of activism we’re seeing from our members in these races.  They’re engaged with the issues and willing to work to make a difference in their work places and communities.”

AFTW members participated in canvases and phone banks across the state.  Chippewa Falls Federation of Teachers Local 1907 member, Sherry Jasper, participated in phone banking for Rebecca Dallet and local labor-endorsed candidates. 

“Talking with fellow union members is always worthwhile,” said Jasper.  “It really makes a difference when we can connect with each other and take action to make Wisconsin a better place for all.”

Wren Keturi 

Share This